2. Home Improvement Grants in France

  1. French Housing Improvement Agency
  2. Eligible Persons
  3. Eligible Properties
  4. Eligible Works
  5. Level of Grant
  6. Application Process

2.3. Eligible Properties for Improvement Grants

The property must be residential in nature and at least 15 years old.

Nevertheless, non-residential properties being converted for residential letting use are also eligible, including grant assistance for the conversion works themselves.

Second homes are not eligible.

The 15 year rule does not apply in relation to disabled works or energy conservation works. Exceptionally, it may also be waived from properties less than 15 years old to remedy insanitary conditions.

The market value of the property is not a criteria, so a sub-standard property is eligible whatever its value, high or low.

The purpose of the works must be to improve the living conditions, security, energy efficiency, services or comfort of the occupants.

This definition clearly leaves for wide interpretation and the only way to get a definitive answer on your potential eligibility is to make enquiries to your local ANAH, the French housing agency.

The agency may be prepared to assist with the funding of a study in order to establish whether or not a property would be eligible.

The property need not necessarily be in a poor state of repair, provided that in one respect or another it does not meet current norms. This rule applies notably in relation to measures to improve energy efficiency.

Grant assistance is also available for works of adaptation for disabled persons.

Landlords with more than one property in need of improvement are eligible for grant assistance on each property, provided the conditions of letting are met.

Next: Eligible Works

Back: Eligible Persons

The Guides to France are published for general information only.
Please visit our Disclaimer for full details.